Old Prison Regions

The Ministry of Justice has carried out a reorganisation of the prison regions, reducing to 8 from 11 ( excluding the High Security Estate). At the moment the MoJ web site hasn’t been updated to reflect these changes so for clarity we have shown the “before” and “after” position against the alphabetic listing.


High Security Region

Belmarsh Frankland Full Sutton Long Lartin
Manchester Wakefield Whitemoor Woodhill



Bedford Bure Highpoint Hollesley Bay
Lincoln Littelhey North Sea Camp Norwich
Peterborough (female) Peterborough (male) Stocken Warren Hill



Kent, Sussex, Essex

East Sutton Park Blantyre Chelmsford Cookham Wood
Elmley Ford Lewes Maidstone
Rochester Standford Hill Swaleside


London & Thames Valley

Aylesbury Brixton Bronzefield Bullingdon
Coldingley Downview Feltham Grendon
Highdown Holloway Huntercombe ISIS
Mount Onley Pentonville Send
Springhill Thameside Wandsworth  Wormwood Scrubs



Birmingham Brinsford Dovegate Drake Hall
Featherstone Foston Hall Gartree Glen Parva
Hewell Leicester Lowdham Grange Nottingham
Oakwood Ranby Ryehill Stafford
Stoke Heath Sudbury Swinfen Hall Whatton


North East & Yorkshire

Askham Grange Deerbolt Doncaster Durham
Hatfield Holme House Hull Humber
Kirklevington Leeds Lindholme Low Newton
Moorland New Hall Northumberland Wealstun


North West

Altcourse Buckley Hall Forest Bank Garth
Haverigg Hindley Kennet Kirkham
Lancaster Farms Liverpool Preston Risley
Thorn Cross Wymott



Ashfield Bristol Channings Wood Dartmoor
Eastwood Park Erlestoke Exeter Guys Marsh
Isle of Wight Leyhill Portland Winchester



Berwyn Cardiff Parc Prescoed
Swansea  Usk


On Tuesday 24th March it was announced that all prisons in the UK would go into a "lock down" state, as a result on Covid19.  In simple terms it means that prisoners will be confined to their cells for the vast majority of each day, being unlocked only for meals and very limited exercise periods. All social visits are cancelled with immediate effect.

The prison staff will ensure that medical requirements will be met as per usual but there will be no "association periods" for the prisoners. Undoubtably this will be difficult and stressful for a number of prisoners, but the prison authorities are acting for the greater good of the majority of prisoners and staff.

Any establishment specific queries you may have should be directed to the prisons