HMP Hewell, General Information

HMP Hewell was established in June 2008 following the amalgamation of three former prisons on the site – Blakenhurst, Brockhill and Hewell Grange. Each site catered for a different category of prisoner – categories B, C and D. In 2011, house block 7, the category C section (formerly Brockhill)), was closed.

The prison primarily serves the Gloucestershire, Worcestershire, West Midlands and Warwickshire catchment area and is part of the West Midlands Region. It has a capacity for 900 inmates on the closed site. The  #1 governor is Raplh Lubkowski, who has been in post since June 2020.

Closed site

The six house blocks have single and double cells, all with in-cell sanitation.

  • House blocks 1, 2 A&C spur, 3 B&C spur and 6 – Convicted and unconvicted prisoners
  • House block 2 A&C spur 3 C Spur – Induction/first night unit
  • House block 4 -Prisoners with drug or alcohol issues
  • House block 5, 2B spur – Vulnerable prisoners
  • Segregation Unit- Prisoners subject to segregation rules
  • Inpatients’ Unit-Prisoners with health care requirements

Return to HMP Hewell

Pretty things for her
Something to sparkle at Xmas

Something to sparkle at Xmas?

Click here to find inexpensive Xmas Earrings and Pins