Bedford has been on its current site since 1801. It was enlarged in 1849 and a new gatelodge, house block and health care centre were added in early 1990s. Bedford accepts prisoners remanded into custody from Luton Crown Court, St Albans Crown Court and the magistrates’ courts in Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire.
- A, B and C wings gallery-style Victorian landing radial, three storeys
- C2 first night centre
- D wing Modern house block on three storeys
- E wing Unique house block, two storeys, with drug recovery wing
- F wing Victorian two-storey, gallery landings and vulnerable prisoner wing
- B1 separation and support unit, single landing
- C1 single landing
- Health care centre single landing on second floor of new purpose-built building.
The prison has a capacity of 506 prisoners, and is part of the East of England Region